2022 Most World Supersport Race One Result: What, No Red Flag?

World Supersport was nineteen dry laps as the rain decided it'd had enough. It didn't matter as the riders were capable of creating enough chaos without it. 

At the start of the race, there was a massive coming together of several riders that ended the race for Dominique Aegerter, Andy Verdoia, Raffaele De Rosa, Federico Caricasulo and Yari Montoya. Can Oncu was involved in the collisions, sliding both wheels as he pushed too hard into the turn and he collected Montella and De Rosa. Oncu got a ride through penalty for his part in the chaos and this put him out of contention.

As the race continued, Lorenzo Baldassarri escaped at the front, building a lead over the first seven laps of almost three seconds over Adrian Huertas with Glenn van Straalen and Valentin Debise a further second behind. Steven Odendaal, a replacement rider for Alessandro Zetti at Kallio Racing, and Stefano Manzi were at the back of the fight for second place. 

As Huertas and van Straalen swapped places back and forth, Baldassarri extended his lead to four seconds. Nicolo Bulega joined the group fighting for second place, making it a six-bike fight. At half race distance, Baldassarri led by over four seconds as Glenn van Straalen led Valentin Debise, Stefano Manzi, Adrian Huertas, Steven Odendaal and Nicolo Bulega as they were covered by less than a second. Niki Tuuli was under a second behind and closing, making the fight for second place seven bikes long by lap twelve. Lap thirteen, two thirds race distance, Baldassarri led Manzi by almost five seconds as Debise duelled with Manzi. Debise, replacing Jules Cluzel for a round, took second place off Manzi and held it throughout the lap to start lap fourteen ahead of the Triumph. Nicolo Bulega passed Glenn van Straalen into turn one to slot in behind Manzi. Manzi took second place into turn one of lap fifteen and tried to break free of the four-way fight behind him. 

At the start of lap sixteen of nineteen, Lorenzo Baldassarri led Stefano Manzi by almost seven seconds as Manzi tried to escape from the fight behind him where Valentin Debise fended off Glenn van Straalen, Steven Odendaal, Adrian Huertas, Nicolo Bulega and Niki Tuuli. On lap sixteen, Lorenzo Baldassarri set the fastest lap, a 1'35.112 lap record, as he increased the lead to over seven seconds. Second to ninth places were all in touch with each other, with two laps to go.

At the start of the last lap, Baldassari held a comfortable lead and an aggressive defence of second place by Stefano Manzi let Steven Odendaal take third place from Valentin Debise and Manzi held second place to the flag.

Lorenzo Baldassarri won by six seconds over Stefano Manzi's first podium for the Triumph Street Triple RS, the first Triumph podium in a decade, in second place and Steven Odendaal fought off Valentin Debise for the last step of the podium. Odendaal qualified in eighteenth place and he apologised for anyone he punted off at the beginning of the race.

Dominique Aegerter's DNF allowed Lorenzo Baldassarri to claw back twenty five points on the runaway championship leader, closing to within thirty nine points of the leader. Stefano Manzi's podium put him in fifth place in the championship, seven points off fourth placed Can Oncu and thirty five points behind Nicolo Bulega whose ninth place after an off-track excursion lost him a few places.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 6.240
3 44 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6 6.288
4 53 V. DEBISE Yamaha YZF R6 6.307
5 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 7.109
6 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 7.126
7 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 8.606
8 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 8.699
9 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 4.752
10 23 I. VINALES Ducati Panigale V2 0.440
11 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 13.983
12 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 5.885
13 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 1.131
14 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.677
15 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.262
16 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 22.088
17 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 0.007
18 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 28.264
19 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 29.522
20 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 31.735
21 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 6.075
22 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6 40.790
23 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 2.858
24 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.419
25 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 16.480
26 89 P. HOMOLA Yamaha YZF R6 39.321
RET 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 18 Laps
RET 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 18 Laps
RET 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2  
RET 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Good result for the production Triumph, first WSS podium, congratulations to them!

I enjoyed seeing Balda win. Go the Gp rejects!

So it's no longer the R6 cup.

Niki Tuuli "Lucky Seven" returns to racing after loosing some toes. Two MV Agustas in the top 7. Three triples.

Where are my racing twins? 9, 10, 13 & 17th. Oh well Oli Bayliss got a few points & some more experience.

Balance of performance? I would say give Ducati more! Some fast circuits coming up after the summer break. Magny-cours, Barcelona, Portimao, Argentina, Mandalika & Philip Island. More revs, more power, more torque and more top speed please.

Well, they're still winning all the races ... But I agree it's terrific to see the new formula working out. I'm looking forward to seeing Bulega or Manzi on the top step sometime before the season is done.