2022 Most World Supersport Race Two Result: Next Generation Regulations Work

World Supersport race two signals the end of the first half of the season and the race will not have championship leader Dominique Aegerter competing as he was suspended for "unsporting behaviour", ruled as faking an injury to try to get yesterday's race stopped after the multi-rider turn one crash on the opening lap. Nineteen laps under a clear 27ºC sky gave us perfect conditions for a race.

Lorenzo Baldassarri led Federico Caricasulo and Nicolo Bulega into turn one as a bunch of riders, including race winner Andy Verdoia, ran off through the run off instead of trying to make the corner, Verdoia ending in fifth place. Glenn van Straalen took the motocross route through the gravel to end up in twenty eighth place. Bulega took second place from Caricasulo on lap two before setting the fastest lap, a 1'35.465. 

Behind Caricasulo, Yari Montella, Can Oncu, Andy Verdoia and Adrian Huertas were in the second group, over two seconds clear of Raffaele De Rosa in eighth place before the second group broke up into smaller groups.

Lap five, the top three were under two seconds clear of Oncu and Huertas. Caricasulo went wide at turn six and returned in front of Can Oncu who made quick work of him. At the end of lap five, Nicolo Bulega took the lead into turn twenty, the last corner, and escaped from Lorenzo Baldassarri. Can Oncu was three seconds behind Baldassarri in third place, lapping half a second quicker than Baldassarri. 

Valentin Debise in tenth place set a 1'35.346 fastest lap, almost seven seconds off the lead. Behind Oncu in a safe third place, Federico Caricasulo had Stefano Manzi on his rear tyre, trying to take fourth place. 

At half race distance, Nicolo Bulega led Lorenzo Baldassarri with Can Oncu three seconds behind. Stefano Manzi led Federico Caricasulo, Adrian Huertas and Bahattin Sofuoglu, Manzi taking second place from Caricasulo into turn one of lap ten, as further back, Kyle Smith was the seventh man to crash today.

Baldassarri remained in Bulega's wake, not looking eager to pass, while Manzi made a mistake, running off the track,  allowing Caricasulo to get past as he fought off Huertas and Sofuoglu. Manzi recovered fourth place into turn one, followed by Sofuoglu past Caricasulo.

At the start of lap fourteen, the top five bikes were all different manufacturers, Ducati, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Triumph and MV Agusta.

With five laps left, Stefano Manzi set the fastest lap, a 1'35.218, as he closed on Can Oncu and broke free of the fight behind him. Nicolo Bulega in the lead had a loose glove, flapping around his right hand as Lorenzo Baldassari took the lead from him into turn one of lap sixteen. Stefano Manzi did the same to Can Oncu to take the last step of the podium as Steven Odendaal became the tenth of eleven retirements, ditching his bike on the exit to turn twenty after clipping Hannes Soomer's bike, bringing out red flags.

The top five places were taken by five different manufacturers as Lorenzo Baldassarri timed his overtake perfectly to take the win ahead of Nicolo Bulega and Stefano Manzi, another piece of perfect timing. Can Oncu was fourth place ahead of MV Agusta's Bahattin Sofuoglu. 

Lorenzo Baldassarri's win puts him within only fourteen points of Dominique Aegerter, gaining fifty points on his rival this weekend. Nicolo Bulega's second place, his best of the year, closes him to within ninety eight points of the title lead. Can Oncu and Stefano Manzi remain in fourth and fifth places. 


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6  
2 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 0.213
3 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 3.922
4 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.354
5 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 5.245
6 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 6.254
7 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 7.582
8 53 V. DEBISE Yamaha YZF R6 8.167
9 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 15.813
10 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 16.747
11 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 17.244
12 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 17.950
13 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 1 Sector
14 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 1 Sector
15 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 1 Sector
16 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 1 Sector
17 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Sector
18 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 1 Sector
19 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Sector
20 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 1 Lap
21 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Lap
22 89 P. HOMOLA Yamaha YZF R6 1 Lap
RET 44 S. ODENDAAL Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R  
RET 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2  
RET 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2  
RET 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6  
RET 23 I. VINALES Ducati Panigale V2  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Funny. Dale Quarterly did the same thing in an AMA Superbike race back in the 90's. Either Charlotte or Daytona. Crashed in turn one. Laid on the track until they red flagged the race. Hopped up and ran back to the pits to make the restart on his spare bike. No penalty.

Ever the rule book bender. Before pit lane speed limits, he was down a lap at Daytona. He dove out from behind the pace car, and raced through pit lane. Re-entered the track ahead of the pace car and got his lap back. AMA changed a rule for this manouver.


I remember the Yates thing. Didn't realize Quarterly had done it too.

Lots of mfrs bikes looking competitive, excellent prospects for the future of the series. Probably the best racing of any series in the Moto GP/WSBK world at the moment.