2022 Magny-Cours World Supersport Race Two Result: Turn Five Rules

World Supersport would be nineteen laps of Magny-Cours, with Kyle Smith serving a double long-lap penalty for his punting of Bahattin Sofuoglu in yesterday's race that brought out the red flags.

Federico Caricasulo headed Lorenzo Baldassarri, Nicolo Bulega and Oli Bayliss into the first turn. Baldassarri took the lead out of turn five as Adrian Huertas shoved a few riders wide, including Dominique Aegerter who ended the incident in seventh place. Five riders led with over a second gap to sixth-placed Aegerter. 

Jules Cluzel in fourth place set the fastest lap, a 1'40.957, hounding third-placed Nicolo Bulega, with Lorenzo Baldassarri leading Federico Caricasulo. Dominique Aegerter caught fifth-placed Can Oncu and tried to pass him on the outside, but the pair lost a few tenths instead, dropping off the leading group.

On lap five, the leading group of Baldassarri, Caricasulo, Bulega and Cluzel were covered by under a second, almost two seconds clear of Can Oncu and Dominique Aegerter. Aegerter finally passed Oncu at turn five as Cluzel and Bulega swapped back and forth. Federico Caricasulo slipped past Baldassarri down the back straight, passing on the inside at the left kink, to take the lead back. Cluzel pulled alongside Bulega heading to turn five and half his line against Bulega's riposte and Cluzel set a fastest lap in the process only for Aegerter to set a 1'40.913 a second later. 

On lap nine, the leading group was five bikes with Caricasulo at the front and Aegerter at the back. Kyle Smith took only one of his two long lap penalties and was handed a ride-through penalty for his troubles. As the leading two duelled through the hairpins, Cluzel closed up. 

At half race distance, Federico Caricasulo led Lorenzo Baldassarri, Jules Cluzel, Nicolo Bulega and Dominique Aegerter, but Baldassarri took the lead into turn five on lap ten and set a fastest lap of 1'40.547 as Glenn van Straalen crashed out as he clipped Can Oncu. Raffaele De Rosa avoided the crash and had a crash of his own in the process. Dominique Aegerter worked his way past Nicolo Bulega into turn five, the most popular passing place of the race. Jules Cluzel dropped to a second off the leading pair and had Aegerter on his tail, and on lap thirteen, Aegerter passed Cluzel into turn five. Aegerter wasted no time in catching the leading pair, bringing Cluzel with him, a second quicker than the bikes in front of him.

Federico Caricasulo charged into the lead into turn thirteen but missed the apex and crashed out in the gravel. Dominique Aegerter inherited second place. Jules Cluzel sat in a comfortable third place, almost three seconds clear of Nicolo Bulega. Valentin Debise was over five seconds further back in fifth place. In turn five of lap sixteen, Aegerter took the lead, but Baldassarri took it back into the 180. Aegerter made a tight move into the Nurburgring chicane to take the lead back and the pair started lap seventeen of nineteen separated by a third of a second. 

Federico Caricasulo worked his way up to seventh after having picked his bike out of the gravel, catching sixth-placed Can Oncu, passing him on lap eighteen, only to drop back to tenth place. The leading two both struggled with tyre grip but kept their fight going. Baldassarri tried a few lines to pass Aegerter, but the world champion held on. At turn thirteen, Baldassarri pushed too hard, trying to tuck under Aegerter on the exit of the turn, and low-sided his Yamaha and rushed to recover from his crash to try and grab a handful of points.

Dominique Aegerter pushed hard for the last few corners unaware that Baldassarri crashed behind him and won the race four and a half seconds ahead of Jules Cluzel. Nicolo Bulega inherited the last step of the podium ahead of Valentin Debise. Lorenzo Baldassarri recovered in fifth place, just ahead of Can Oncu and Stefano Manzi. Oli Bayliss held off Federico Caricasulo for eighth place. 

Dominique Aegerter's win, four places ahead of his title rival Lorenzo Baldassarri, increased his lead to nineteen points. This was his tenth win of the year. Nicolo Bulega's third place didn't affect his safe third place in the championship, ninety nine points off Baldassarri and thirty three points ahead of Can Oncu.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 4.507
3 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 3.282
4 53 V. DEBISE Yamaha YZF R6 11.646
5 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 18.179
6 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.519
7 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 18.977
8 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 0.328
9 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 0.253
10 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.639
11 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 22.172
12 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 23.757
13 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 23.981
14 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 11.086
15 23 I. VINALES Ducati Panigale V2 0.097
16 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 35.803
17 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 5.237
18 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 0.920
19 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 44.898
20 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 1.237
21 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 2.235
22 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 50.951
23 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 2.357
24 17 K. SMITH Yamaha YZF R6 1'14.276
25 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1.016
26 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 1 Lap
RET 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 9 Laps
RET 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 10 Laps
RET 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 17 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


STILL nearly The R6 Cup?! Quite surprised. Time for an adjustment rpm chop from stewards? 

I anticipated Ducati leading. Nope.

Very interesting class structure. Nowhere else do we have this bike and engine diversity. Always loved the 600's, joyful rides. Note that the GSXR750 is homologated, should arrive 2023. Will be cheap to run. Bit of a "cheater " the Kawi 636 already was of course, but 250 more cc's is a LOT. I like the bike! On paper, it doesn't make the horsepower that I assume it can. Let's see what happens.

The old days of 750 4's and 1000 Twins are back? Remembering the Duc - Honda Twins and Yamaha - Kawi 4's of way back Superbike. No rider aids, light nble 160hp = Goldilocks perfect.