2022 Aragon Moto3 Race Result: An Undisputed Leader And A Maiden Podium

Moto3 at MotorLand wasn’t much of a miff, with an undisputed leader from lights to flag in Izan Guevara. The championship leader had a dream afternoon, leading each of the 19 laps on home soil and extending his advantage in the championship quite handsomely. Despite having Ayumu Sasaki glued to his rear wheel for much of the race, the Spaniard stretched enough of a gap over the final couple of laps to halt any attacks from the Japanese rider, who settled for second. Dani Holgado only dropped from the leading group in the last handful of laps and the rookie got to celebrate a maiden grand prix podium on home soil and with a cushy advantage over the rivals behind.

Guevara’s lightning start from pole position allowed him to quickly stretch a slight gap at the front, only Sasaki and Holgado seemingly able to keep up with his early pace. The trio immediately extended a second’s advantage over the chasing group led by Tatsuki Suzuki and including Ivan Ortolá and John McPhee. Another second back was a group of fast starters, with Deniz Öncü, Sergio Garcia and David Muñoz, who quickly joined the top 10 after starting as far back as the sixth row for Muñoz, while Dennis Foggia was going the other way, dropping out of the top 10 on the opening lap.

The three leaders’ advantage continued to grow over the first few laps, up to three seconds by lap six, while Suzuki struggled to bridge the gap and there was the threat of Öncü quickly coming from behind. The Turkish rider was the quickest of the group and quickly closed the gap to the battle for fourth, while Muñoz & Co seemed stuck one and a half seconds behind and with the title rivals out of the top 10 at that stage. Garcia eventually picked up the lead of that third group and tried to pick up the pace as well, but all eyes were on the men ahead, where Öncü quickly got past Ortolá, Suzuki and McPhee to lead the pursuit that had since dropped four seconds behind the leading trio.

There were no moves at the front in those early stages, allowing Guevara, Sasaki and Holgado to maintain their advantage over the pursuit, despite Öncü’s speed. Meanwhile, Garcia had joined that party, bringing a sizeable group with him, ending with Foggia in 15th position. The Italian’s hopes were short-lived though, as he struggled to make up positions and was dropped from the pursuit by lap 10. Garcia wasn’t faring much better either, the Spaniard going backwards once more, dropping outside of the top 10 at the halfway point of proceedings, towards the back of the group battling for fourth and seemingly unable to recover any ground over the next few laps.

Back at the front, Guevara and Sasaki seemed to have started dropping Holgado with five laps remaining, but the rookie faced no threat from behind, with Öncü over nine seconds back at one point. The order of the four men remained unchanged until the chequered flag, but the fight for fifth was a great deal more eventful. A harsh move from Muñoz over Adrian Fernandez dropped the Tech 3 rider from fifth to outside of the top 10 for the final handful of laps, while Muñoz himself dropped to 12th after serving the ensuing long lap penalty. Both riders made good use of the final couple of laps to recover ground, with Fernandez reclaiming fifth for a best career finish, ahead of another best grand prix finish for Ortolá in sixth and Muñoz climbing back into seventh position. Jaume Masia, Carlos Tatay and McPhee rounded out the top 10 places, while Suzuki faded late on and dropped to 12th.

Meanwhile, in the title battle, several mistakes for Garcia saw him lose ground and drop to 13th place for the final couple laps, ahead of an underwhelming Foggia, who had a lonely day in 14th position. All this gave Guevara even more reason to smile, the youngster now 33 points ahead of his teammate in the world championship standings and a massive 58 points ahead of Foggia.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 28 Izan Guevara GasGas 37:29.9440
2 71 Ayumu Sasaki Husqvarna 0.957
3 96 Daniel Holgado KTM 6.536
4 53 Deniz Öncü KTM 12.906
5 31 Adrian Fernandez KTM 16.695
6 48 Ivan Ortola KTM 16.721
7 44 David Muñoz KTM 16.855
8 5 Jaume Masia KTM 16.961
9 99 Carlos Tatay CFMoto 17.048
10 17 John McPhee Husqvarna 17.071
11 43 Xavier Artigas CFMoto 17.136
12 24 Tatsuki Suzuki Honda 17.167
13 11 Sergio Garcia GasGas 17.217
14 7 Dennis Foggia Honda 18.083
15 10 Diogo Moreira KTM 23.442
16 54 Riccardo Rossi Honda 25.637
17 72 Taiyo Furusato Honda 28.688
18 16 Andrea Migno Honda 31.435
19 82 Stefano Nepa KTM 31.525
20 23 Elia Bartolini KTM 31.592
21 66 Joel Kelso KTM 31.599
22 19 Scott Ogden Honda 31.990
23 27 Kaito Toba KTM 34.415
24 64 Mario Suryo Aji Honda 34.747
25 22 Ana Carrasco KTM 60.627
26 91 Alessandro Morosi KTM 83.545
27 6 Maria Herrera Energica 83.608
Not Classified
  6 Ryusei Yamanaka KTM 29:20.4810
  9 Nicola Carraro KTM 02:50.6780
  20 Lorenzo Fellon Honda 02:43.8880
  70 Joshua Whatley Honda  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


Top Hondas in 12 and 14, both quality riders supported by a quality team.

Not just MotoGP that Honda is struggling in, Moto3 and WSBK as well.

It really looks like Honda stayed static the last couple of years as far as the development of their Moto3 bike goes, while KTM has eased forward. Which would possibly account for how many more KTMs there are now than Hondas.