2022 Catalunya World Superbike Superpole Race Result: Spend All Your Tyres

The World Superbike Superpole race would be ten mostly dry, cool laps with a lot less tyre management required. Michael van der Mark had a long lap penalty from yesterday's incident with Luca Bernardi.

Ominously, Alvaro Bautista led Jonathan Rea into turn one with Toprak Razgatlioglu in eleventh place. Alex Lowes passed Andrea Locatelli for third place then Rea for second. Iker Lecuona slipped under Locatelli and the pair crashed out on lap one. 

Bautista led Lowes and Rea after the first lap, a second ahead of Michael Ruben Rinaldi and a hard-charging Razgatlioglu. Bautista set a 1'41.135 on lap two with Lowes lapping within five hundredths of a second.

At the start of lap four, Xavi Vierge held off Philipp Oettl, Axel Bassani and Scott Redding in sixth place behind the Rinaldi and Razgatlioglu scrap. On lap five, Razgatlioglu was close enough down the straight to outbrake Rinaldi to take fourth place from him, over two seconds behind Bautista, Lowes and Rea. 

At half race distance, Vierge still led Oettl and Redding in the fight for sixth. At the front, Bautista started to tease out a lead over Lowes and Rea and Razgatlioglu broke free of Rinaldi in fourth place.

Eight laps in, Bautista's lead was over a second over Lowes and Rea with Razgatlioglu and Rinaldi almost three seconds further back. At the start of the last lap, Jonathan Rea passed Alex Lowes into turn one to take second place remarkably easily from his teammate. Toprak Razgatlioglu was over three seconds further back with Rinaldi almost four seconds further back. 

Alvaro Bautista won the race having led all ten laps from a second row start, putting himself on pole position for this afternoon's race, alongside Jonathan Rea and Alex Lowes, but the podium was briefly declared provisional only to be confirmed a minute later. Toprak Razgatlioglu headed the second row with Michael Ruben Rinaldi and Philipp Oettl. Xavi Vierge led Scott Redding and Loris Baz on the third row, but a crash put Vierge's teammate, pole sitter Iker Lecuona, off the front three rows.

Alvaro Bautista stretched his lead a few points more over Toprak Razgatlioglu as Jonathan Rea closed up again, with Bautista fifty points over Razgatlioglu and fifty five over Rea.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 19 A. BAUTISTA Ducati Panigale V4R  
2 65 J. REA Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1.185
3 22 A. LOWES Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1.377
4 1 T. RAZGATLIOGLU Yamaha YZF R1 3.711
5 21 M. RINALDI Ducati Panigale V4R 3.928
6 5 P. OETTL Ducati Panigale V4R 10.506
7 97 X. VIERGE Honda CBR1000 RR-R 10.637
8 45 S. REDDING BMW M1000RR 10.947
9 76 L. BAZ BMW M1000RR 14.575
10 31 G. GERLOFF Yamaha YZF R1 14.601
11 44 L. MAHIAS Kawasaki ZX-10RR 17.326
12 29 L. BERNARDI Ducati Panigale V4R 17.644
13 3 K. NOZANE Yamaha YZF R1 19.942
14 50 E. LAVERTY BMW M1000RR 20.672
15 2 R. TAMBURINI Yamaha YZF R1 20.723
16 47 A. BASSANI Ducati Panigale V4R 20.886
17 23 C. PONSSON Yamaha YZF R1 23.918
18 99 O. GUTIERREZ Kawasaki ZX-10RR 25.744
19 36 L. MERCADO Honda CBR1000 RR-R 25.759
20 52 O. KONIG Kawasaki ZX-10RR 37.666
21 55 A. LOCATELLI Yamaha YZF R1 7.704
RET 7 I. LECUONA Honda CBR1000 RR-R  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top