2022 Catalunya World Supersport Race Two Result: Full Race Distance

World Supersport race two started under warm conditions with Dominique Aegerter and Lorenzo Baldassarri lining up on the same softer SCX tyre with everyone else on a harder tyre.

Federico Caricasulo got the holeshot ahead of Can Oncu and Nicolo Bulega. On the exit of turn four, Can Oncu took the lead from Caricasulo. Dominique Aegerter led Lorenzo Baldassarri in fifth and sixth place. At the start of lap three Caricasulo took the lead into turn one and Yari Montella took second place off him into turn five. Stefano Manzi set the fastest lap, a 1'46.321 climbing to eighth place. Federico Caricasulo got pushed aside into turn one and riders took their turns to pass him as he tried to recover, slower than everyone else throughout the first turns. Glenn van Straalen crashed out from the pack as the leading twenty riders remained in a group.

Can Oncu led Lorenzo Baldassari, Yari Montella, Adrian Huertas, Dominique Aegerter and fifteen others as Can Oncu set the fastest lap of 1'45.746. The leading sixteen riders were squeezed into three seconds. Five laps completed, Domonique Aegerter set the fastest lap in fourth place, a 1'45.386, as a gap started to form between Aegerter and fifth-placed Stefano Manzi. Aegerter climbed to third place, passing Montella to catch Oncu and Baldassarri.

Lap seven and Baldassarri took the lead into turn one, passing Oncu outside down the straight. Manzi jumped the gap from fifth place to catch Montella, leaving Federico Caricasulo to lead the second pack in sixth place.

At the lead of the five-rider leading group, Oncu took the lead back into turn one, followed by Aegerter to push Baldassarri into third place, ahead of Manzi and Montella. 

At half race distance, Can Oncu led Lorenzo Baldassarri, Dominique Aegerter and Stefano Manzi with Federico Caricasulo over a second behind, heading the second group. Aegerter took second place cleanly into turn one. The fight for fifth place was Caricasulo, Niki Tuuli, Yari Montella and Bahattin Sofuoglu. 

Aegerter led over the line to start lap eleven, but Baldassarri used the slipstream to pass the two bikes in front of him, but Oncu went round both of them to take the lead. Baldassarri passed Oncu a few turns later. Lap twelve and the leading four were covered by well under two tenths of a second as Aegerter overshot turn one to lose a second to Baldassarri, Oncu and Manzi in front of him. Can Oncu took the lead from Baldassarri as Aegerter closed up on Manzi at the back of the leading trip, closing a sixth of a second in one sector.

Lap fourteen and the leading four bikes were covered by just half a second, and Oncu nearly locked his front wheel, causing Manzi to dodge, but the group didn't lose any time. Manzi took second place and tried to make a pass on Baldassarri, but couldn't take the lead. Lap fifteen and Aegerter slipstreamed down the straight to leapfrog to third place, only outbraved by Can Oncu in the lead. Aegerter passed Oncu at turn four and started to push for a break. 

Down the straight to start lap sixteen, Aegerter was only a third of a second clear of Oncu's Kawasaki, Manzi's Triumph and Baldassarri's Yamaha, but a lap later, Aegerter pulled a further third of a second on his rivals. Baldassarri looked like he couldn't keep up with Oncu and Manzi ahead of him, dropping to a second off the leading trio by lap seventeen. Manzi and Oncu swapped back and forth as Aegerter started the lap over a second clear of Manzi and Oncu as Baldassarri's tyre gave up over a second further back.

Can Oncu tried several times to pass Stefano Manzi but he couldn't make a pass work; Manzi however touched the green paint wide exiting turn nine, potentially giving Oncu second place on paper, but not on track.

Dominique Aegerter won by two seconds ahead of Can Oncu and Stefano Manzi, the track limit excursion dropping Manzi to third place. Lorenzo Baldassarri was two further seconds in a lonely fourth place, four and a half seconds from Federico Caricasulo and Niki Tuuli. Caricasulo was also penalised for a green paint infraction, giving fifth place to Tuuli.

Dominique Aegerter's twelfth win extended his lead over Lorenzo Baldassarri to thirty six points with Baldassarri's fourth place. Can Oncu's second place lifted him to third place in the championship, overtaking Nicolo Bulega who could only manage fourteenth place. Stefano Manzi remains in fifth place in the championship, thirty seven points off fourth place and thirty points clear of Yari Montella's sixth place.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 2.014
3 P 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 0.086
4 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 4.218
5 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 8.863
6P 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 0.037
7 54 B. SOFUOGLU MV Agusta F3 800 RR 9.848
8 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.001
9 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 11.544
10 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 11.584
11 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 11.888
12 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 12.768
13 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS 13.618
14 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 1.116
15 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 16.608
16 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 16.658
17 52 P. HOBELSBERGER Yamaha YZF R6 3.584
18 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 20.845
19 76 J. GIRAL Ducati Panigale V2 1.012
20 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 0.355
21 22 F. FULIGNI Ducati Panigale V2 5.609
22 81 A. VIU Yamaha YZF R6 29.599
23 23 I. VINALES Ducati Panigale V2 0.580
24 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.991
25 73 M. KOFLER Ducati Panigale V2 1.542
26 6 J. BUIS Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.395
27 70 M. ALCOBA Yamaha YZF R6 44.966
RET 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 6 Laps
RET 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 7 Laps
RET 21 B. CURRIE Kawasaki ZX-6R 7 Laps
RET 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 8 Laps
RET 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 11 Laps
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


is still proving the best racing anywhere, to my mind. And five mfrs in the top six in this race? Awesome.

^ Right?!

How has Pirelli made a tire that works for all those bikes at at those tracks? A Duc big twin is a handful of points behind a Yamaha screamer. Same tire. 

Go Manzi and Triumph!