2022 Buriram Moto3 Race Result: Another Taste Of Title Drama

The ever-present threat of rain never materialised for the lightweight class race and we were served a masterclass from Dennis Foggia, the poleman only relinquishing the lead for about two corners on route to claiming his fourth victory of the season. Ayumu Sasaki did his best to change that but eventually had to settle for second, in his third consecutive podium and 10th overall in Moto3. Italy had a particularly good day in Thailand, with Riccardo Rossi climbing on the podium for the first time this season and claiming a beautiful third place trophy.

Foggia had been unrivalled from the start, making a solid launch from pole position, ahead of Sasaki, Stefano Nepa and Diogo Moreira, while David Muñoz made another lightning launch to join the top five by the end of the opening lap. Jaume Masia, Dani Holgado and Rossi weren’t too far behind, with Izan Guevara. After a couple of laps, the eight-man group had stretched the slightest of gaps over the pursuit, which was led by championship leader Izan Guevara, who had made slight progress from 11th on the grid. Teammate and title rival Sergio Garcia was less lucky, becoming the innocent victim of a crash for Adrian Fernandez at the final corner of the opening lap and although Garcia was able to re-join, he eventually retired.

Back at the front, Foggia tried to stretch a gap early on and put a few tenths between himself and the rest of the group led by Sasaki, while the men behind were keeping each other busy - Masia and Muñoz particularly feisty, but with Rossi and Moreira in the mix as well. The frequent exchanges allowed Guevara to briefly bring the sizeable pursuit back into contention, but they quickly dropped back down as Guevara couldn’t really focus on bridging the gap, as he was constantly under threat from Deniz Öncü. Despite starting 18th, Tatsuki Suzuki had also joined the pursuit by this point but had to abandon with a mechanical issue on lap eight.

Despite the frequent movements behind him, Foggia continued unchallenged at the front after the first 10 laps, setting a hot pace that Sasaki, Munoz, Rossi and Moreira could match but it was steadily dropping Masia out of podium contention. However, the Spaniard wasn’t under much threat from behind for the moment, with Guevara and Öncü still engaged in battle almost three seconds back. Part of Guevara’s problem was sorted on lap 13, when Öncü served a long lap penalty for exceeding track limits and dropped to 12th position, although the championship leader still had Nepa, Holgado, Yamanaka and Migno on his tail.

Back at the front, there was a brief change at the end of lap 13, Foggia running wide at turn 12 and allowing Sasaki to lead the way, but the Italian soon resumed control at turn three. The list of rivals was starting to reduce further, Moreira also taking the scenic route at the final corner, which dropped him one second behind the leading foursome of Foggia, Rossi, Sasaki and Muñoz. Two seconds behind the Brazilian rookie, Masia’s sixth place was about to come under fire from the Guevara group and the KTM Ajo rider soon found himself down in 11th position, after almost losing the front at turn five.

Going into the final six laps, Foggia, Rossi and Sasaki had dropped Muñoz two seconds back in the blink of an eye, the Spaniard dropping back towards the second group, where Guevara was challenging Moreira for fifth. Some mistakes started to sneak in for the championship leader over the final couple laps, dropping him to seventh position at one point, but Guevara quickly responded to retake the lead of the chasing group.

Foggia picked up the pace at the end and started the final lap with a handy advantage of over a second, leaving Sasaki to fend off Rossi for the remaining podium positions. Rossi tried an overtake at the final corner but ran wide and Sasaki swiftly reclaimed second. Seven seconds behind the podium men, the fight for fourth was hotting up, with the sizeable pursuit trading places at every turn, but by the time the chequered flag waved, Nepa was ahead of Guevara - the Italian's best result in the world championship - and Migno ahead of Moreira, although a late track limits penalty for Migno demoted him behind Moreira once more. A mistake from Muñoz, running wide at the final corner, dropped him to ninth, while Yamanaka completed the top 10.

Despite missing out on the podium and settling for fifth, Guevara continues to have a comfortable lead in the championship standings, 49 points over victor Foggia, while Garcia’s misfortune drops him to third in the standings, 56 points back.


Pos No. Rider Bike Time/Diff
1 7 Dennis Foggia Honda 37:52.3310
2 71 Ayumu Sasaki Husqvarna 1.524
3 54 Riccardo Rossi Honda 2.804
4 82 Stefano Nepa KTM 9.414
5 28 Izan Guevara GasGas 9.527
6 10 Diogo Moreira KTM 9.971
7 16 Andrea Migno Honda 9.610
8 5 Jaume Masia KTM 10.033
9 44 David Muñoz KTM 10.046
10 6 Ryusei Yamanaka KTM 10.088
11 96 Daniel Holgado KTM 14.571
12 66 Joel Kelso KTM 23.432
13 99 Carlos Tatay CFMoto 23.763
14 43 Xavier Artigas CFMoto 23.842
15 19 Scott Ogden Honda 23.868
16 20 Lorenzo Fellon Honda 24.232
17 53 Deniz Öncü KTM 24.055
18 23 Elia Bartolini KTM 40.092
19   Vicente Perez   40.094
20 48 Ivan Ortola KTM 40.228
21 64 Mario Suryo Aji Honda 40.366
22 22 Ana Carrasco KTM 43.876
23 70 Joshua Whatley Honda 48.480
24 9 Nicola Carraro KTM 54.747
25 72 Taiyo Furusato Honda 0.000
Not Classified
  11 Sergio Garcia GasGas 26:52.8480
  17 John McPhee Husqvarna 13:12.1470
  24 Tatsuki Suzuki Honda 12:03.6540
  27 Kaito Toba KTM 01:50.0410
  31 Adrian Fernandez KTM  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top