2022 Mandalika World Supersport Race 1 Result: It's Been A While

The first World Supersport race of the weekend was Dominique Aegerter's first chance to secure the 2022 World Supersport championship along with the MotoE title, needing to score just three points more than Lorenzo Baldassarri to win his second title of the year. 

Federico Caricasulo led Niki Tuuli and Dominique Aegerter into turn one from fifth place on the grid. Hannes Soomer crashed out in turn one, knocked off after impact with his teammate Stefano Manzi. Nicolo Bulega took third place from Aegerter as Glenn van Straalen set off the airbags in his suit crashing out. Niki Tuuli led at the start of the second lap ahead of Caricasulo and Oncu. 

Lorenzo Baldassarri lost the rear in turn one of lap two and he crashed out as Stefano Manzi set the fastest lap, a 1'36.846. Dominique Aegerter needed only three points, thirteenth place or better, to take the championship. He sat in sixth place. Can Oncu set the fastest lap on lap three, a 1'36.526, as Aegerter dropped to seventh place. Oncu sat ins second place behind Tuuli and ahead of Caricasulo as the leading three broke free of the four-way fight for fourth led by Nicolo Bulega.

At the start of lap six, Stefano Manzi took the lead of the second group, ahead of Nicolo Bulega, Yari Montella and Dominique Aegerter. Lap seven and Niki Tuuli set the fastest lap, a 1'36.314, ahead of Can Oncu and Federico Caricasulo. 

Stefano Manzi received a long lap penalty for his part in his teammate's crash on the first lap. 

At half race distance, Niki Tuuli led Can Oncu with Federico Caricasulo over a second off the leaders. Yari Montella was over two and a half seconds further back, leading Stefano Manzi, Dominique Aegerter and Nicolo Bulega. Rafaelle De Rosa and Jules Cluzel were over five seconds further past. Manzi took his long lap penalty and lost three seconds in the process. 

On lap ten, Can Oncu set a 1'36.303 fastest lap a third of a second behind Niki Tuuli. A lap later, Tuuli went offline at turn three and Oncu wasted no time to take the lead from him, hair flapping behind his helmet as he tried to break Tuuli behind him with a fast lap. 

Can Oncu started lap thirteen of nineteen almost a second clear of Niki Tuuli with Federico Caricasulo over a second and a half further back. A lap later the gap at the lead was unchanged and Dominique Aegerter was in a safe sixth place, with six seconds behind him to the furious battle for seventh between De Rosa, Manzi and Cluzel.

Niki Tuuli took the lead back after an off-track excursion by Can Oncu put him a second and a half off Tuuli's lead and only a second ahead of Federico Caricasulo. Aegerter stopped riding conservatively and started looking for a way past fifth-placed Nicolo Bulega. 

With three laps to go, Tuuli led Oncu by over two seconds and Aegerter moved up to fifth place, passing Bulega. Oncu lost second place to Caricasulo going a little wide into turn ten and, in spite of a bold attempt to take second place back, he had to accept third place. 

At the start of the last lap, Niki Tuuli led Federico Caricasulo and Can Oncu by almost four seconds. Less than two seconds behind them, Yari Montella was fending off an attack by Dominique Aegerter whose championship was assured as long as he finished. 

Niki Tuuli won by over three seconds, joined on the podium by Federico Caricasulo and Can Oncu, but in fourth place, Dominique Aegerter beat Yari Montella by just eight thousandths of a second in a drag race to the line to take his second championship of the year.

In the first race of the year without a Yamaha on the podium, Niki Tuuli took his first victory in five years and MV Agusta's first since Robbie Rolfo's victory in the opening race of 2017, but Yamaha's Dominique Aegerter took the title, the first back-to-back winner in World Supersport since Kenan Sofuoglu and the first winner of two titles in a year since Freddie Spencer winning the 500cc and 250cc titles in 1985. 

With three wins in MotoE and thirteen in World Supersport, Aegerter moves to World Superbike in 2023, but he still has three races to race before that happens.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR  
2 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 3.528
3 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.698
4 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6 6.029
5 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 0.008
6 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 3.997
7 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 20.344
8 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 21.051
9 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 0.613
10 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R 24.751
11 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.454
12 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 31.177
13 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 1.261
14 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 3.776
15 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 1'05.396
16 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 1'05.489
17 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 1'05.554
18 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 1'06.013
RET 91 L. BERNARDI Ducati Panigale V2 4 Laps
RET 7 L. BALDASSARRI Yamaha YZF R6 17 Laps
RET 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 18 Laps
RET 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS  
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top


MV, Triumph, Ducati, Kawasaki, Yamaha, all contending for podiums and wins. An excellent set-up by the governing body.