2022 Mandalika World Supersport Race 2 Result: Red Flag Cuts Race Short

World Supersport race two started in warm conditions, 36ºC air and 59ºC track.

With the title set, the racing wasn't done. Federico Caricasulo led Can Oncu, Nicolo Bulega and Dominique Aegerter but Can Oncu took the lead into turn ten. Yari Montella passed Bulega for third as Niki Tuuli took fifth place from Dominique Aegerter. Stefano Manzi climbed up four places to get to eighth place behind Aegerter. Lorenzo Baldassarri briefly held fourth place until he was pushed back to sixth place as all fifteen points scoring places were heavily contested by a single group. Caricasulo had the fastest lap on lap two with a 1'36.377.

Lap three of nineteen, Niki Tuuli set the fastest lap with a 1'36.328 as Bulega got punted into the run off, recovering in eleventh. Lap four, Aegerter was the fastest man on track, a setting a 1'35.775 fastest lap and a new lap record. The top six were c covered by just over a second at the start of lap five. 

At the start of lap six, Can Oncu led Niki Tuuli, Federico Caricasulo, Stefano Manzi, Dominique Aegerter and Yari Montella, but Manzi went wide into turn one to let Aegerter slip neatly into fourth place. Peter Sebestyen pulled into the pits as his gear shifter fell off while Aegerter took third place from Caricasulo.

Turn twelve, lap seven, Niki Tuuli flipped his bike under Oncu to take the lead and was followed by Aegerter. Into turn one, Aegerter took the lead briefly but Tuuli kept his cool and the lead, but Aegerter kept trying and eventually took the lead into turn ten. Stefano Manzi sat behind the leading pair in third place, holding Oncu off behind him.

At half race distance, Niki Tuuli led Dominique Aegerter after a turn one pass. Stefano Manzi was on their tails ahead of Can Oncu, Federico Caricasulo and Raffaele De Rosa. Aegerter took the lead back into turn ten, his foot slipping off the left footrest but not costing him any time. Manzi took advantage of a mistake from Tuuli to steal second place and try to catch a rabbiting Aegerter. 

Aegerter's short escape act didn't last as Manzi kept with him, lapping four tenths quicker in second place. Tuuli also lapped quicker than Aegerter, dropping Oncu. Caricasulo missed the clean line and was immediately passed by De Rosa and Montella. 

Niki Tuuli crashed out at turn one, applying a little too much throttle to flip his rear and donating the last podium spot to Oncu, almost four seconds off Manzi's second place. Dominique Aegerter set a 1'35.765 lap record as the red flags came out for Tuuli's crashed bike a lap later. Two thirds race distance was completed and the result was called. 

2022 world champion Dominique Aegerter, the only Yamaha in the top eight, won the race ahead of Stefano Manzi and Can Oncu. Raffaele De Rosa took fourth place ahead of Yari Montella and Nicolo Bulega. With the top two places in the championship determined, Can Oncu's fight over third place extends to thirty eight points over Nicolo Bulega and forty one points over Stefano Manzi with just two races left. Niki Tuuli wasn't injured.


Pos No. Rider Bike Gap
1 77 D. AEGERTER Yamaha YZF R6  
2 62 S. MANZI Triumph Street Triple RS 0.470
3 61 C. ONCU Kawasaki ZX-6R 4.461
4 3 R. DE ROSA Ducati Panigale V2 7.838
5 55 Y. MONTELLA Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Sector
6 11 N. BULEGA Ducati Panigale V2 1 Sector
7 64 F. CARICASULO Ducati Panigale V2 1 Sector
8 38 H. SOOMER Triumph Street Triple RS FL
10 16 J. CLUZEL Yamaha YZF R6 FL
11 69 T. BOOTH-AMOS Kawasaki ZX-6R 1 Sector
12 99 A. HUERTAS Kawasaki ZX-6R I3.2
13 94 A. VERDOIA Yamaha YZF R6 I3.2
14 32 O. BAYLISS Ducati Panigale V2 1 Lap
15 9 S. JESPERSEN Yamaha YZF R6 I3.1
16 28 G. VAN STRAALEN Yamaha YZF R6 I3.1
17 91 L. BERNARDI Ducati Panigale V2 1 Lap
18 24 L. TACCINI Yamaha YZF R6 I3
19 25 M. BRENNER Yamaha YZF R6 I3
20 10 U. ORRADRE Yamaha YZF R6 I3
21 50 O. VOSTATEK Yamaha YZF R6 I2.1
22 56 P. SEBESTYEN Yamaha YZF R6 4 Laps
RET 66 N. TUULI MV Agusta F3 800 RR 1'35.839
Round Number: 
Tweet Button: 

Back to top